Punishment Domain

The wicked and sinful must pay for their crimes against your faith, and your deity is one that tolerates no wrongdoing. Gods of law, order, justice, knowledge, fear and vengeance may all have punishment as one of their domains. Clerics of this domain are sometimes known as inquisitors, but all are resolute in their hunt for apostates, heathens, fiends and heretics.

Punishment Domain Spells


Cleric Level Spells
1st hellish rebuke, inflict wounds
3rd heat metal, zone of truth
5th bestow curse, counterspell
7th banishment, phantasmal killer
9th dispel evil and good, immolation

Bonus Proficiencies

When you select this domain at 1st level, you gain proficiency in martial weapons and heavy armor.

Eyes of the Inquisition

Starting at 1st level, your god enables you to reveal the foulest of secrets and the hidden blasphemies that permeate the corrupted souls of mortals. You gain proficiency in the Perception, Insight, and Investigation skills. If you are already proficient in a skill on this list, you add twice your proficiency bonus instead.

Whenever a creature attempts to deceive you, you have advantage on Insight checks to detect the deception.

Channel Divinity: Penitent Prayer

At 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity feature as a bonus action to strike yourself in penance for your sins. You take damage from your held weapon equal to your cleric level, gain temporary hit points equal to the damage suffered, and you become immune to the charmed and frightened conditions for one minute.

Ominous Dread

At 6th level, your god empowers you with the ability to strike terror into the hearts of the impure. As an action, you can project an aura of fear in a 30-foot radius. Creatures of your choosing within that radius must make a Wisdom saving throw against your cleric spell save DC or be frightened of you until the start of your next turn.

Divine Strike

At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon strikes with the burning fervor of your belief. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d8 fire damage to the target. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

Purge the Heretic

At 17th level, your god bestows their divine fury upon you. Whenever you deal damage, you can choose to re-roll any number of damage dice. You take the higher result for each die rolled. When you do so, you lose hit points equal to the number of dice re-rolled using this feature.