Night Mask Deathbringer

Rogues have many features in common, including their emphasis on perfecting their skills, their precise and deadly approach to combat, and their increasingly quick reflexes. But different rogues steer those talents in varying directions, embodied by the rogue archetypes. Your choice of archetype is a reflection of your focus—not necessarily an indication of your chosen profession, but a description of your preferred techniques.

You have undergone a dark ritual to gain some of the powers of a vampire while remaining alive and mortal. You are not truly undead, so you do not share their weakness to sunlight and divine magic, but neither are you fully alive. Your newfound powers are simply new tools to use in your deadly craft.

Hesitating Stare

Starting when you select this archetype at 3rd level, you gain the terrifying gaze of a vampire. As a bonus action on your turn, you can fix this gaze on one creature that you can see within 30 feet of you. The creature must succeed on a Charisma saving throw (save DC equals 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier) or become frightened of you until the beginning of your next turn. A creature that succeeds on this saving throw is immune to it for 24 hours.

Spider Climb

Starting at 3rd level, you can walk on walls and ceilings, unhampered by gravity. You learn the spell, spider climb, and can cast it once (targeting only yourself) as a 2nd level spell.

You must finish a short or long rest before you can use this ability again.

When you reach 9th level, you can use this feature 3 times between rests, and when you reach 13th level, you can use it at will.

Ghost Step

Starting at 9th level, as a bonus action, you can become invisible until the beginning of your next turn. You can use this feature a number of times equal to your Charisma modifier (a minimum of once). You regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

Dominating Stare

Starting at 13th level, you learn to use your unnerving gaze to hypnotize instead of frighten. You learn the spell, dominate person, and can cast it once as a 5th level spell. Charisma is your spellcasting ability for this spell.

You must finish a short or long rest before you can use this ability again.


Starting at 17th level, whenever you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you regain hit points equal to half the damage dealt, rounded down, as you siphon away the unfortunate victim’s strength.

Additionally, you gain the fangs of your undead kin. As an action on your turn, you can bite a creature that is willing, grappled, incapacitated, or restrained, dealing 1 piercing damage and 3d6 necrotic damage. You regain hit points equal to the amount of necrotic damage dealt.